Judges Announced! Gillian Conoley, Nicholas Montemarano, and Patrick Phillips Will Judge Dogwood’s Literary Prizes!

DogwoodGraphic2017The editors of Dogwood are thrilled to announce the judges for Dogwood’s Literary Prizes in Poetry, Fiction, and Nonfiction.  Learn more about each below, and enter the prize here.

Gillian Conoley will judge the Dogwood Literary Prize in Poetry. Her most recent collection of poetry, Peace, was named an Academy of American Poets Stand-out Book for 2014 and a finalist for the Los Angeles Times Book Award. She is the author of eight collections of poetry including The Plot Genie, Profane Halo, Lovers in the Used World, and Tall Stranger, a finalist for the National Book Critics Circle Award. Conoley’s work has received the Jerome J. Shestack Poetry Prize, a National Endowment for the Arts grant, and a Fund for Poetry Award, and has been anthologized in more than 20 national and international anthologies, including W.W. Norton’s Postmodern American Poetry (second edition), W.W. Norton’s American Hybrid, Counterpath’s Postmodern Lyricism, and Oscar Mondadori’s Nuova Poesia Americana. Conoley’s translations of Henri Michaux, Thousand Times Broken: Three Books by Henri Michaux, appeared with City Lights in 2014, and was named one of the top ten poetry books of 2014 by Publisher’s Weekly.  Conoley has taught as a Visiting Poet at the University of Iowa Writers’ Workshop, University of Denver, Vermont College MFA Program, Texas State University, and Tulane University. The founding editor of Volt, she has taught at Sonoma State University since 1994, where she is Professor of Creative Writing (Poetry).

Nicholas Montemarano will judge the Dogwood Literary Prize in Fiction. He is the author of three novels, A Fine Place, The Book of Why, and, most recently, The Senator’s Children. He has also published a short story collection, If the Sky Falls, a New York Times Book Review Editor’s Choice. His stories have been published in Esquire, Tin House, Zoetrope, and many other magazines. His fiction has been awarded a Pushcart Prize and a fellowship from the National Endowment for the Arts. He is professor of English at Franklin & Marshall College in Lancaster, PA. Nichaolas Montemarano is a 1992 graduate of Fairfield University.

Patrick Phillips will judge the Dogwood Literary Prize in Nonfiction this year.  Patrick Phillips’ first book of nonfiction, Blood at the Root was published in 2016, and named a Best Book of the Year by the New York Times and the Boston Globe. He has written three poetry collections, including Elegy for a Broken Machine, a finalist for the National Book Award. He lives in Brooklyn and teaches at Drew University.

This year for the first time we have doubled the available prize money, offering three prizes of $1,000 each for the best story, essay, and poem submitted.  All finalists will be published alongside the winners.  Enter by clicking this link.


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this:
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close